Appendix 5. "The Queen's Representative in Australia is the first to be presented with the PJM"

to PJM Submission dated 26 March 2006

Pingat Jasa Malaysia Presentation By Malaysian CDF at Government House, Canberra

In 2004, the Malaysian government offered Australia the Pingat Jasa Malaysia (PJM) to commemorate those Australian Defence Force personnel who served to uphold the sovereignty of Malaysia during the Malayan Emergency and the Indonesian Confrontation between 31 August 1957 and 31 December 1966. The Australian government accepted the offer and over 6 000 applications have since been verified by Defence out of about 12 000 former and current serving members believed to be eligible.

On Monday, 30 January 2006, the Malaysian Chief of Defence Force, Admiral Anwar attended Government House, Canberra to present the first awards of the PJM.

As a sign of good-will, Admiral Anwar presented the initial medals to the Governor General, Major General Michael Jeffery AC, CVO, MC, and to veterans across a range of ranks and Services who served in the Malayan Emergency and the Indonesian Confrontation. The medal was also posthumously awarded to two veterans and presented to their next of kin as a mark of honour to all deceased veterans.

Visiting Malaysian Defence dignitaries were present at the award ceremony, accompanied by Chief of Defence Force Air Chief Marshal Angus Houston, AO, AFC and invited guests of the medal recipients.

The original intention was for the medal to be presented individually at small ceremonies around the country, and in Malaysia to visiting Australians. However, this is now no longer possible. Distribution to remaining eligible recipients will now be through the Directorate of Honours and Awards from within Defence, acting as agent on behalf of the Malaysian Government. This process is expected to commence in the near future.

Eligibility

The Malaysian Government has set the following eligibility guidelines:

- The PJM will be awarded to Australian Defence personnel, who served in the prescribed areas from 31 August 1957 to 12 August 1966, or to 9 August 1965 for service in Singapore (the point at which it separated from the Federation of Malaysia);
- Service until 31 December 1966 will also qualify for those personnel who were posted to Malaysia for service prior to 12 August 1966, but failed to qualify for the medal before that date;
- Awards will also be made to those whose service was cut short as a result of death or injury as a result of service in these areas;
- Around 40 former members of the Australian Army who were recruited by the Government of the Federation of Malaya to serve as Lieutenants in the Malaysian Police Force are also eligible for the award; and
- The Department of Defence will receive applications, verify the service and eligibility and facilitate the
 approval to wear the award in accordance with guidelines for foreign awards.

For a copy of the application form, members should either call the toll-free medals' hotline 1800 111 321 or go to the Defence Honours and Awards website at:

http://www.defence.gov.au/dpe/dpe_site/honours_awards/.



Back L-R: Corporal Robert Tyrrell; Air Commodore Albert Benson; and Warrant Officer Geoffrey Dorward.

Middle L-R: Seaman Deric Kenyon; Commander Colin Fitzgerald; His Excellency Dato' Haji Salim Hashim, High Commissioner for Malaysia; Warrant Officer Class Two Robert Brown; and Sergeant Eric Johnston.

Front L-R:Lieutenant Colonel Tomasz Ciesniewski; Chief of Defence Force Air Chief Marshal Angus Houston; Malaysian Chief of Defence Force, Admiral Anwar; His Excellency Governor General, Major General Michael Jeffery; Mrs Jennifer Burns; and Mrs Elaine Neeves.

This extract is attributed to <u>http://www.defence.gov.au/dpe/</u> (click on Honours and Awards on the right of this page).